The First Horizon Award

Each year, the Eric Hoffer Award presents the First Horizon Award for superior work by debut authors (i.e the first published book of any type by the author). This is an additional distinction beneath the Eric Hoffer Award umbrella.

“The passionate pursuer has all the earmarks of a fugitive.”

-Eric Hoffer

Upon registering for the Eric Hoffer Award, a book by a first time author is automatically considered for the First Horizon Award. In the spring, the First Horizon finalists are announced. The First Horizon Award was introduced in 2012. Recipients can be viewed below. Detailed coverage of current winners can be found in the US Review of Book.


  • A Spiritual Hypothesis, Daniel Punzak, P.E., AuthorHouse
  • Cast, Jen Townsend & RenĂ©e Zettle-Sterling, Schiffer Publishing
  • Calling a Wolf a Wolf, Kaveh Akbar, Alice James Books
  • Exploring the Lanscape of the Mind, Stephen S Clark Xlibris
  • Given Away, Kate Anne Kang, CreateSpace
  • Immaculate Consumption, Deena Solomon, Wheatmark
  • Pecking Order, Nicole Homer, Write Bloody
  • The Greatest Wish, Amanda Yoshida, Mascot Books


Dr. Deena Solomon
Follow me